But it’s for my sister, mother, brother ……..

In my PGCE year I wanted to experiment with SOWs. I wanted to see how I could increase student creativity. So, I implemented independent learning strategies and creative exercises in a project I titled Emosh Pillows.’

The project was adapted from their current scheme of a design and make project, which was a pillow. I decided I wanted to generate creative outcomes and for pupils to have the freedom and independence to do this. The pupils brief was to choose a mood and create a pillow design to convey the mood without using words or generic imagery for a client (Pauls Boutique).

I explored with pupils how to express themselves using line, colour and shape. Then we interpreted music, art and did various creative activities. All these activities were to discourage pupils designing on the path of least resistance. I didn’t want hearts or footballs.

Boys struggled more with the project. The main struggle was making pupils realise they weren’t designing a project for themselves and that it was for a client. They had a brief, which many pupils didn’t like, as they saw the project as a thing they were making for their mum or their sister. We need to get pupils in a more designerly mindset by giving them briefs to work to. This will only aid creativity.

I wanted to share some of their work, as they made me proud.

Low ability KS3
Low ability KS3
Confused
Confused
Confused and Sad Themes
Confused and Sad Themes
Sad Pillow
Sad Pillow
Confused
Confused
Sad
Sad

Next time I want to add in electronics to make it more exciting.

Leave a Reply

